Goals

Goals.

We all have them. Some are big, some are small. Some are lifelong and some are day-to-day. I’ve thought a lot about my goals for this process, and I try to keep them in the back of my mind when I’m facing a particularly difficult day in my journey. They are subject to change, of course, but we must always be looking forward to the future, and not dwell on past behaviors and habits.

Here is a simplified list of my major personal goals in my journey toward living a simpler life. I want:

  • Everything I own to have a specific home. A place for everything and everything in its place.
  • To not spend the majority of my time cleaning and organizing my house. To be free to spend my time with my friends and family.
  • To teach my children how to live simply, and not attach unnecessary sentiment to material things. I’d rather they value experiences and memories.
  • To share my journey of ditching my clutter with others, in hopes that I can inspire them to lead a better life.
  • When we eventually leave this house, I want the moving experience to be as pain free as possible. No more moving random boxes of crap!
  • To spend more time decorating and working on the design aspects of my house, and less time controlling clutter.
  • To work smarter, not harder.
  •  To be free from excess.

These are the major goals I remember along the way. Minor goals include:

  • Developing a solid cleaning routine and sticking to it.
  • Cutting my shoe and clothing collection down to ONE closet.
  • Emptying the attic.
  • Using storage space wisely, and not filling drawers and cabinets to the brim.

Those are my goals. What are yours?

One comment

  1. My goal is for my husband and daughter to look back fondly on the time we have as a family. I want them to be assured in my love for them.

    My secondary goal is to be able to pay for my daughter’s undergraduate degree, if she chooses to attend college. That has been one of my dreams since before I was pregnant!

    These things have a lot to do with minimizing. For me, minimizing is just another way of making sure my priorities are in line with these goals.

Leave a Reply

